Who We Are


Located in the UK Parliament, we support and strengthen parliamentary democracy throughout the Commonwealth.

Peer to peer learning is central to our methodology. We design bespoke programmes between parliamentarians and staff in the UK and other Commonwealth parliaments to enable and facilitate knowledge-sharing.

Our programmes are intended to achieve improved parliamentary oversight, scrutiny and representation.

The Commonwealth

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 53 independent and equal sovereign states.

It is home to 2.4 billion people and over 60% of these are under 30. Leaders of the Commonwealth meet every 2 years to discuss issues of mutual concern and interest.

Commonwealth nations work together to implement our shared values and principles which are in the Commonwealth Charter.

UK Houses of Parliament

UK Houses of Parliament

The Commonwealth Flag

The Commonwealth Flag

Our Vision

Inclusive, representative and transparent Commonwealth Parliaments that are fully effective in enforcing the accountability of the executive and representing the interests and concerns of the electorate.

Our Mission

To support and strengthen Commonwealth parliaments to deliver effective oversight, scrutiny and representation of their governments.

British Islands and Mediterranean Region

CPA Branches are divided into nine geographic regions, and each region engages in its own programme of activities. The Regions are: Africa, Asia, Australia, British Islands and Mediterranean (BIM), Canada, Caribbean, Americas and Atlantic (CAA), India, Pacific, South-East Asia. 

CPA UK is part of the British Islands and Mediterranean Region (BIMR) and also serves as its Secretariat. 

Along with CPA UK, the other branches that make up CPA BIMR are:

AlderneyCyprusFalkland IslandsGibraltar, Guernsey, The Isle of ManJerseyMaltaNorthern Ireland, St Helena, Scotland and Wales

Three Regional Representatives from each CPA Region sit on the international CPA Executive Committee. The current BIMR representatives are:

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is made up of 20 parliamentarians from both the House of Commons and the House of Lords elected at the Annual General Meeting.

The current Executive Committee was elected at CPA UK's 2017 Annual General Meeting (AGM), which took place on 12 July.  

Members of Staff

If you'd like to join our team. Search here for opportunities.