Papua New Guinea

Parliament of Papua New Guinea

Parliament of Papua New Guinea

Key Facts

Head of State: HM King Charles III

Joined the Commonwealth: 1975

Capital City (location of Parliament): Port Moresby

Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral - National Parliament (111)

Further Information:


CPA UK & Papua New Guinea

CPA UK maintains a positive bilateral relationship with Papua New Guinea. With support from the British High Commission Port Moresby, CPA UK have welcomed a number of parliamentarians from Papua New Guinea and the Autonomous Region of Bougainville (ARB) to Westminster.

CPA UK last visited Papua New Guinea and ARB during the bilateral delegation in 2013. Papua New Guinea often engage with CPA UK in multilateral programmes.




Our Recent Programmes

CAPAC Pacific WorkshopSuva, Fiji, 19-21 February 2019

CPA UK delivered the first in a series of CAPAC workshops in Suva, Fiji from 19 -21 February.

The workshop was attended by Chairs, Members and Clerks from 11 Pacific Island Public Accounts Committees. The workshop formed part of CPA UK's work as part of the Commonwealth Partnership for Democracy (CP4D).

Pacific Islands Westminster SeminarBrisbane, 9-11 March 2017

In partnership with the Queensland Parliament, CPA UK organised the Pacific Islands Westminster Seminar in Brisbane. Based on CPA UK’s flagship Westminster Seminar the Pacific Seminar invited parliamentarians and clerks from all CPA branches in the Pacific Region to exchange views and good practice on parliamentary practice and procedure. The Seminar focused on the role of MPs in their community, good practice for parliamentary oversight of the executive, and shared experiences of climate change mitigation.