Cook Islands

Flag of the Cook Islands

Flag of the Cook Islands

Key Facts

Head of State: King Charles III

Joined the Commonwealth: 1931 (New Zealand Territories Associated State)

Capital City (location of Parliament): Avarua

Unicameral/Bicameral: Unicameral (25)

Further Information:


CPA UK & Cook Islands

The Cook Islands has been a self-governing territory in free association with New Zealand since August 1965 and retains the right to move to full independence at any time.

The Parliament of Cook Islands is unicameral consisting of 25 elected members serving a five-year term. Representatives from the Cook Islands regularly contribute to CPA UK’s multilateral programmes and CPA UK looks forward to strengthening that relationship based on mutual learning.


Our Recent Programmes

Pacific Islands Parliamentary Workshop, New Zealand - 12-14 April 2018

Two parliamentarians and one clerk from the Cook Islands participated in a rigorous discussion on parliamentary best practice and comparative analysis across Pacific parliaments and the UK. The programme focused on learning from the experiences of others and the sharing of knowledge between participants. Sessions ranged from Clerk and Member relations, the work of Committees, Representing constituents and cross-contextual issues and challenges. Find out more online.